Thinking about Back-to-School

  • Registered for fall classes (15 credits)
    .
    Creative Writing, Developmental Psychology, Maine History, Critical Thinking, and College Algebra
    .
  • Accepted a very generous financial aid package
    .
    Federal Pell Grant, Federal Supplemental Grant, Maine State Grant, Chamber of Commerce Scholarship, Federal Work-Study, Subsidized Stafford Loan

  • Scheduled for new student orientation on August 17th
    .
    Getting my student ID photo taken, meeting with department faculty and staff, getting all the inside scoop, feeling like a real student at last.
  • Working a highly quittable job, just to survive until financial aid kicks in
    .
    I am capable of living on very little money, and am not too terribly concerned about quitting at this point.

.
.
 

Yes, indeedily do.

In September, I will be the world’s oldest living college freshman, and I cannot wait to get going.

A “lucky” combination of financial suffering in recent years, femaleness and advanced age seems to have strengthened my eligibility for grants and scholarships. I will have a loan, but my overall debt will be very low.

I hate my job and may or may not quit in the next few hours. I’ve worked almost 100 hours for them as of last night, and still have not received a penny.

Nevertheless, it may be July, but here in Maine, I can already smell autumn in the air, and life is good.

2 Comments

Filed under college, debt, financial aid, frugal, school, surviving

2 responses to “Thinking about Back-to-School

  1. Congrats on going to school! Don’t worry about being the oldest. You’ll probably be the smartest too!

  2. cclepew

    Thanks… I’m very excited… it’s getting closer!

Leave a Reply

