Cure for the book-buying addiction

Public Libraries are both temples of knowledge and vigorous defenders of freedom of speech. Lofty idealistic concepts aside, they are also an endless source of free reading material.

Every time I come across an online review or recommendation for a book that sounds interesting to me, I just open up another tab in Firefox and punch a few keys. In a few days, I go downtown and pick up a free copy of that interesting book that so intrigued me!

It’s magic!

Lean in closer, young wizards, and I shall divulge wonders beyond your imagination!

That magical secret is MINERVA, the online inter-library network for Maine Public Libraries. If my local branch doesn’t have the book I’m looking for, I can search the entire state through MINERVA– and borrow it from any other branch… delivered right to my local library!

I just love this system so much. Gone are the days when I spent too much money on books. Now I can check them out for free, and then decide which ones are worthy of acquiring for my own library.

Check your library’s website. I’ll bet they have the same system available.

3 Comments

Filed under books, budget, cheap entertainment, cheap fun, college, free stuff, freebies, frugal, libraries, library, reading, school

3 responses to “Cure for the book-buying addiction

  1. It’s always nice to hear from someone who appreciates the library. We librarians do our best with very little. People like you make it all worthwhile!

  2. Great reminder! I’m trying to do the same and then purchase the ones worthy of my shelves. Unfortunately many of the books I want to read are not in the library.

  3. cclepew

    @ Woeful: I totally appreciate and support libraries. And hey– I’ve been lurking around your blog for a while, too. Thanks for stopping by.

    @ booksden: I used to buy every book that caught my eye. I now show restraint, and I feel I’ll have a better collection for it.

Leave a Reply

