Saving money through mindful shopping

How many times have you gotten to the grocery check-out and been completely blind-sided by the grand total?

“How on earth did I spend that much money?!”

Actually, it’s pretty easy to do, if you’re not shopping mindfully.

What does that mean?

Students of Eastern philosophy, such as Buddhism, will recognize the idea of mindfulness. To practice mindfulness– to be mindful– is variously defined as being present in the moment… as being aware of the present… as being attentive to the present moment. You are fully paying mind to the task at hand. Your mind is fully grounded, present in the moment.

All too often, we’re zipping through the grocery store, rushing on our way to or from somewhere else. We’re mindlessly tossing items into the shopping cart. Our minds are focused on everything but the task of purchasing food to nourish ourselves and our loved ones. We just want to get out of that store as fast as possible. Even worse, we skipped lunch today and hit the grocery store with an empty, growling tummy.

So much for our carefully-crafted grocery budget.

No wonder the grand total at the check-out is a big surprise! I only came in for three items, and now I have half a shopping cart-full! How did I do that?

I can write about that sort of crazed grocery run from experience. These days, though, my check-out experience has zero sticker-shock. When I get to the check-out, I always know– within a dollar or two– how much I will be spending.

How?

Simple. With each item that goes into my cart, I make a point of noticing the price on the shelf. I keep a running total in my head, rounding up or down to the nearest full dollar. That just makes it easy to keep track. In the future, I may start bringing a little pocket calculator with me.

It’s also good to have your budgeted amount in mind while doing this, so you know when you’re getting close to the edge. It’s not an exact science, but it works. When the cashier wants my money, I already know approximately how much it will be.

This technique may slow you down, but that’s just the idea. Come back down to earth and shop mindfully. The Retail Powers-that-Be are counting on you to move through their stores like mindless little consumer-zombies. Beat them at their game. Reap the reward of no check-out surprises… and your budget shall prevail!

4 Comments

Filed under budget, frugal, groceries, money management, saving, shopping, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Saving money through mindful shopping

  1. Pingback: A life with broad margins « frugalC

  2. savinoxide

    I totally know that feeling of “how did I spend that much”. Still, I always go to the store with shopping list in hand and go after the store brand stuff. I really need to get a small calculator to keep better track, before I get to the check out.

    ~Jo
    Savin Oxide

  3. Christine

    @ Savin Oxide:

    Yup. It’s so easy to zone out and buy too much.. and that’s exactly how the store-keepers like it. I’ll start keeping a little calculator in my purse, too.

Leave a Reply

